Nourishing life, community, family, home.

I have been enjoying Jane Goodall’s love letter to plants–her new book Seeds of Hope–and it has gotten me thinking about how fortunate I have been to have a good relationship with plants in a part of the world in which many species can flourish.

Bee Balm, Asiatic lilies, lemon balm, and lamb's ear, June 2013

Bee Balm, Asiatic lilies, lemon balm, and lamb’s ear, June 2013

 

I love when I can design gardens with a free hand and incorporate some of my favorite plants for zone 6/7–healing plants (echinacea, yarrow, stinging nettle, motherwort…), edibles (blueberries, sweet potatoes, passion flower, nasturtium…), natives and non-natives that offer color or texture or an unexpected practical use (yucca, mimosa….  Or just a sentimental favorite like sweet peas… This year I planted pink begonias just because they reminded me of my Great-Aunt Katie and our long summer visits when I was a little girl. I thought it would be fun to list some of my favorite, “go to” plants that provide multiple benefits and hope that it inspires others to find their own favorites and discover new ones…

  • sweet potatoes
  • pie pumpkins
  • patty-pan squash
  • amaranth–copperhead and other varieties
  • Maypop/passion flower
  • Corno-di-Toro peppers
  • yellow cherry tomatoes
  • dill
  • fennel
  • variegated yucca
  • meadowsweet
  • wintergreen
  • yellow raspberries
  • black raspberries
  • rhubarb
  • chocolate mint
  • yarrow
  • goumi (shrub, nitrogen-fixing)
  • blueberries
  • goji (shrub)
  • iris
  • solomon’s seal (shade)
  • wood poppies
  • sunflowers

 

There are so many more, but this is a good sampling. What’s growing in your garden?

Leave a Reply

